Texas Sex Offender Registration for Young Adult Offenders – New Laws!

The Texas Sex Offender Registration Laws have traditionally been among the harshest in the nation.
Many people have felt they were too harsh when it came to registering young adult offenders in Texas. Under the previous law, a defendant who engaged in “consensual” statutory rape had to register as a sex offender for life.
This year the Texas Legislature finally heard their concerns.
The new law gives the defendant an opportunity to have a hearing on an exemption for Texas sex offender registration.
To take advantage of the new law, the defendant has to meet certain requirement. At the time of the offense, the defendant had to be not more than 4 years older than the victim, and the victim had to be at least 15 years old.
If you are interested in finding out more information about the Texas Sex Offender Registration, or about the criminal defense proceedings in Denton County and Collin County, contact us.