Driving

Driving After Death: the Texas Beneficiary Form for Vehicles

There’s a new form in town:  Beneficiary Designation for a Motor Vehicle. If you own a vehicle registered in Texas, then you can name a beneficiary who will take title to the car when you die. How do you make this happen?  For now, you will probably have to stand in line at the county tax assessor-collector’s office to submit the forms.  You must submit the beneficiary form  an Application for...

Seniors Driving Safely – Knowing When To Hand Over The Keys

Next time you pull out into traffic, consider this: there are more than 40 million licensed drivers aged 65 and older in the United States. Texas drivers who are at least 79 years old must renew their driver’s license in person at a local Department of Transportation office. Once a person reaches 85, the renewal period is cut from 6 years to 2 years.       Most senior drivers have to take a...

Driving While Intoxicated – Know Your Rights

“Know Your Rights Before You Get Stopped For Driving While Intoxicated”   During the holidays, many law enforcement agencies increase their patrols in an effort to stop citizens who may be operating a motor vehicle while impaired.  While you may be driving lawfully after drinking responsibly, that does not mean that a police officer cannot investigate you for possibly driving while intoxicated.  As a result, you should know your rights before...

ODL and ALR in Texas – Driving after a DWI in Texas

One thing most of us take for granted is having a driver’s license.  Each day we jump behind the wheel and drive to work, run errands, pick kids up from school, or go wherever it is we need to go without thinking twice about it.  Now imagine your life without a driver’s license.  How are you going to get to and from work?  What happens if your child gets...

7 Things to Remember if You are Stopped for a DWI in Texas

1. If you see police lights, pull over and stop. Stay in your car. Assume you are being videotaped. 2. Turn the interior lights on for the police officer's benefit. Get out your driver's license and insurance certificate. After that, keep your hands on the steering wheel and in plain sight when the officer approaches. 3. If you have doubts that it is really a police officer behind you, then you...

North Texas Crime and Punishment

Misdemeanors and Felonies In Texas, crimes are often classified by their types of punishments. Misdemeanors are classified as: Class C – No confinement, $500 maximum fine Class B - up to 180 days in county jail, $2,000 maximum fine Class A - up to 1 year in county jail, $4,000 maximum fine Examples of misdemeanors: • Purchasing alcohol for a minor or furnishing alcohol to a minor (Alcoholic Beverage Code 106.06) – Class A • Driving...

Frequently Asked Questions about Drunk Driving

Q: What is "blood-alcohol concentration" or "blood-alcohol level"? A: Blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) is the level of alcohol in the bloodstream from drinking alcoholic beverages. BAC readings are used in court as evidence in drunk-driving cases. The most common method of measure is a breath test, although blood and/or urine testing is sometimes done. A result of .08 or higher may establish a presumption of intoxication. The details of the .08...

Frequently Asked Questions about Drunk Driving

Q: What is "blood-alcohol concentration" or "blood-alcohol level"? A: Blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) is the level of alcohol in the bloodstream from drinking alcoholic beverages. BAC readings are used in court as evidence in drunk-driving cases. The most common method of measure is a breath test, although blood and/or urine testing is sometimes done. A result of .08 or higher may establish a presumption of intoxication. The details of the .08...

The Impact of a Drunk-Driving Conviction on Your Auto Insurance

An alcohol-related car accident and subsequent drunk-driving conviction can bring many negative consequences into your life, possibly including jail or prison time, a criminal record, car repair or replacement, restitution, guilt and grief over harm to others, higher insurance premiums, a civil lawsuit, fines, court and administrative fees, community service, alcohol education, substance-abuse treatment, social stigma, restrictions on or revocation of your drivers license, attorneys fees, restrictive probation and...
Hammerle Finley Law Firm is open during regular business hours, and we are accommodating special appointment requests.   Learn More